All Or Nothing review by Pennywise

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 1, 2012
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (19 votes)
Pennywise: All Or Nothing

Sound — 8
Ten. Twelve. This is album number ten for Pennywise and consists of twelve solid tracks, welcome to "All Or Nothing". The new album by Pennywise is the first album that has a new singer. Do not be fooled though, the band has kept their style and brought another solid album to the table. The sound of the album is fantastic. The title "All Or Nothing" is very fitting, because Pennywise decided to give it all. Their style has always been fast changing power chords with blasting drums. The agenda has been there for a very long time and Pennywise have perfected it time and time again. The drum work by Byron McMakin is fantastic. Every song seems blast-beated and grooved out as fast as possible and really dominates the headphones. Along with the drums are the piercing guitars of Fletcher. His riffs really mix well with Byron's sonic drumming. Everything is perfectly in sync and the recording quality is way more accepting of the music then previous. It is a well put together album that sounds great. Pennywise time after time have found the recipe for working the instruments out till each one sounds perfect.

Lyrics — 8
New vocalist Zoli Téglás took the role of vocals and fronting the band after old vocalist Jim Lindberg left the band. The pipes of new vocalist Téglás are twice what Lindberg had produced. He bellows and sings with great pitch and a dominating atmosphere. The vocals are reminiscent of other punk acts but I think the change adds a new instrument with more notes then before. Téglás really fits with the band and helped solidify the album. Old listeners will not be disappointed.

Overall Impression — 8
Pennywise stepped up to the plate and produced another solid album. It is rare to see punk bands still chugging on, but Fletcher makes sure the riffs allow that to happen. Even with a new vocalist and a solid four year gap between albums "All Or Nothing" is a definite step forward. Listeners who want to constantly nod their head back and forth to up paced songs need to have this album, or listen to the stream; listen to the album. Not once did I get bored listening to the album, and it reminds me of the first days I listened to punk. Solid album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date