First Daze Here review by Pentagram

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (5 votes)
Pentagram: First Daze Here

Sound — 10
It is the year 1972 and Rock and Roll is the biggest form of music in the world. Bands like Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Alice Cooper and Deep Purple are taking the world by storm. All of these bands have become legendary, but one band was overlooked. The band was called Pentagram, a band whose oldest songs were not released until 2002. Long before Pentagram would be reinvented and release the album "Relentless" in 1985, they were forging together some of the greatest Heavy Metal sounds in the world, which would later be the blueprint for so many bands to come. The sounds of such songs "Forever My Queen," "Review Your Choices," and "Walk In The Blue Light" were the very foundation that Doom Metal was built on. Other songs like "Starlady," "Hurricane," and "20 Buck Spin" had the high voltage rock and roll sound of many bands that would later sprout in the late 70's and early 80's. Such ballads like "Be Forewarned" and "Last Days Here" would be ripped off by many Melancholic Doom Metal bands later on. If any band was too be signed it would have been Pentagram, with Bobby Liebling's powerful, haunting vocals, Vincent McAllister's heavy, droned guitar riffs, Greg Mayne's catchy basslines (especially on "Earth Flight" I might add), and Geof O'Keefe's drum beats that you can feel beating you in the chest through your speakers, were all the elments you needed in 1972-73. The sound of Pentagram is everything a Metalhead could want from it's heavier than hell riffs, to it's blitzing guitar solos.

Lyrics — 10
With a name like Pentagram you would think they sing solely about satanism right? Actually none of the songs really deal with Old Scratch at all. Alot of the lyrics actually deal with love, while others deal with straight forward lyrics that point a middle finger in the direction of the mainstream. And ever songs like "Review Your Choices" deal with almost a Christian viewpoint to the afterlife. Bobby delivers his lyrics well, especially with a chilling voice like his. The lyrics can also be very metaphorical, which shows the creativity of the lyricist.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall this album gets a 10. I have no idea why this band was not signed in the 70's, they could have had a bigger impact on music. They could have even roamed with the giants known as Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, and Deep Purple. If you like those three bands I mentioned, along with bands like The Sword, Blue Cheer, Saint Vitus, and Trouble, you will love this album. While it is true this entire album is a collection of demos, the sound quality sounds like if it was recorded in a high quality studio (which 11 of the songs were recorded professionally). If you are fan of straight up Metal, check out the songs "Forever My Queen," "Earth Flight," "Be Forewarned," and "Review Your Choices." I honestly think this is an essential Metal album, and hell even if you like classic rock, you'll love this. This album deserves the reputation of albums like Black Sabbath's "Paranoid" and "Volume 4." Pentagram has actually begun to tour again with Bobby still fronting the band. If you live in Europe, go see them.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date