Collide With The Sky review by Pierce the Veil

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 17, 2012
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.1 (71 votes)
Pierce the Veil: Collide With The Sky

Sound — 10
"Collide With the Sky" is the third studio album by American post-hardcore band Pierce The Veil. Released on July 17th 2012, the album is arguably a significant improvement to their heavily criticised 2010 release "Selfish Machines." The album entered the U.S. Billboard 200 at number 12, selling over 27,000 copies in its debut week which had exceeded to 120,000 copies by May 2013. This album has been referred to as the band's best release to date. 

Pierce The Veil have extended their iconic sound and have surpassed expectations with this album, shown through standout tracks such as "Hell Above," "King for a Day," "The First Punch" and "Hold On Till May" being brilliant aspects of the amazing rock feel captured through the albums twelve tracks. The band's lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist Vic Fuentes did the majority of the song writing on the album and his presence in both the writing and performance aspects of the album are exceptional. Fuentes' iconic voice is captured through both classic rock vocals and almost unrecognisable screams. The album includes featuring artists such as Kellin Quinn, Jason Aalon Butler and Lindsey Stamey. Kellin's appearance on the album's lead single "King for a Day" captures the classic rock vibe with the perfect mix of Vic and Kellin's classic vocal tones that have become iconic in the metalcore scene over the past years. Dan Korneff and Kato Khandwala's production skills on the album sees a mix of both raw metal power and a slight touch of modern influence that incorporates the band's style perfectly.

Lyrics — 10
Lyrically the album is strong, containing very heavy subject matter. The content of the album includes discussing subjects such as: self-harm, isolation and suicide. This content is evident in the album's third track "A Match Into Water" written about Vic's past girlfriend and the album's second single "Bulls in the Bronx" a dedication to a fan who took her own life and her family and friends. These are two examples which in both cases their lyrical influence has been incorporated exceptionally to make two very impressive rock songs. "Bulls in the Bronx" is also a stand out track on the album due to its use of an interlude that consists primarily of a Spanish inspired acoustic guitar solo. The album's closing track "Hold On Till May" is an amazing piece of lyrical artwork where Fuentes tells the story of a girl who is on the brink of a suicidal decision where he is offering her comfort. The track is a duet with Oh No Fiasco's Lindsey Stamey who contributes to the song with the closing of the final verse. The band's exceptional ad powerful pop hooks on such songs as "Props & Mayham" and "Tangled in the Great Escape" (feat. Jason Aalon Butler): to which earned the band praise by many critics. This along with the use of pianos and keys in the songs gives the album an aspect that adds to what is not generally regarded as a concept of the metalcore scene.

Overall Impression — 10
From start to finish the album is an exceptional work of musical precision which has place the band at the forefront of the hard rock music scene. This together with the band's frantic and explosive stage presence has skyrocketed the band into success with the perfect balance of metalcore screams, powerful, classic metal guitar riffs and an explosive force from the percussive aspect of all the songs. This album has guaranteed Peirce The Veil a place in rock history and it is certain that they will continue to climb in success over the coming years. AbsolutePunk commenting that the album "proves Pierce The Veil are seemingly still one step ahead of everyone else when it comes to concocting energetic slice of post-hardcore and that they won't be dropping the ball any time soon."

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Love it. Excellent from start to finish, like an album made up of singles. Best thing to come out of post-hardcore in years.