Wish You Were Here review by Pink Floyd

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 12, 1975
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.3 (136 votes)
Pink Floyd: Wish You Were Here

Sound — 10
The sound of this album is very different from other albums because of the sound effects they used. For example, at the beginning of Welcome To The Machine, it sounds like someone is going up an elevator. Or at the beginning of Wish You Were Here, you hear the guitar coming out of what sounds to be a transistor radio. The music is not simple yet not complex. It's just in between, which is probably why people like it so much.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are a mix of a tribute to their old singer and guitar player, Syd Barrett, who destroyed his mind with LSD, and the disgust of what happens with the music industry. In Have A Cigar, the lyrics display how your manager or record label will try to flatter you and stuff so they can get what you want. In Welcome To The Machine, it shows that the industry is a machine and that they take all the willing musicians and totally twist and mutilate what they want to do. In the other songs, they sing about Syd Barrett. In Shine On You Crazy Diamond, the lyrics seem to describe him and what he was, and in Wish You Were Here... well, the title says it all. The lyrics also mesh quite nicely with the music, for they both give off the same feel. The singers, David Gilmour and Roger Waters, are very, very good on this, and although this album doesn't display their best singing skills, as did The Wall and Dark Side of the Moon, they are still very talented. On Have a Cigar, they get someone else to sing the lyrics because Roger Waters found that he could not sing the song the way he wanted to.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is probably one of the best albums of all time, and certainly on the best of the band's. The highlights of the album would have to be Welcome to the Machine or Wish You Were Here. Unfortunately, the album is not very long, for it only contains 5 songs. I would most definitly buy it again if it was lost.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date