Silence review by Polar For The Masses

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 5
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 5.7 Decent
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)
Polar For The Masses: Silence

Sound — 6
Along the line of the "less is more" philosophy, Polar For The Masses stands by a minimal, "ice cold" brand of sound, managing to pack their 3rd studio album, "Silence", with eclectic and unpredictable post-punk tunes, without overlooking the genre's essential approach and raw power.

Lyrics — 5
Poetic lyrics with abstract, fascinating content about inner issues and relationships that leaves a lot to the personal interpretation of the listener. Cool effects with the double lead vocals. Pretty dark and full of references to artists and other musicians.

Overall Impression — 6
The 8 songs featured in "Silence" are tight to the bone and constitue a straight-forward album, simple and raw, but with a progressive twist: A blend of fierce rock and roll, roomy post rock and black music groove dressed in fuzzy guitars, a steady rhythm section and double lead vocals.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    The review doesn't match the score at all. You mention nothing bad yet give it a 5.7? And the review is what? 4 sentences long? There are a few good points but expand upon them, I honestly have no idea what this record sounds like after reading this review. And again, a 5.7 for a "tight to the bone, straight-forward album"?