Tonight The Stars Revolt! review by Powerman 5000

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 20, 1999
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7 (15 votes)
Powerman 5000: Tonight The Stars Revolt!

Sound — 9
Anyway, the whole CD is basically based off of an "Outer Space"/techno kind of sound, since most of the sounds have kind of martian sounds to them, and the album booklet is full of spacey looking things, anyway if you've seen the CD cover you know what I mean. Overall, the music is really good. The songs do sound similar to each other in some ways, but after a while they develop distinct sounds. PM5K does a good job with the spoken word intro to set the tone for the CD, which leads right into Supernova Goes Pop!, which has one of the best sounding guitar riffs by the band in the intro. The next song, When Worlds Collide, has an extremely catchy chorus, and was featured on the Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 soundtrack. One of the other better songs on the album is Blast off to Nowhere, which features Spider One's (vocals) older brother Rob Zombie, yes, the Rob Zombie, throwing in additional screams. Overall, the guitars are pretty good, but not totally amazing, since most of the songs are chord-based. The drummer does a good job most of the time, but there are a few spots where changes could be made, such as the intro to Blast off to Nowhere, which has a rough transition from the primary intro to the verse. The bass lines are really good, especially in the Operate Annihilate intro/chorus, where the bass further intensifies the spacey feeling to the CD. Overall, if you don't like the band to begin. this CD won't make a difference, but if you like the band, this is a good CD to grab.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics fit perfectly with the spacey theme of the CD, songs like When Worlds Collide and Supernova Goes Pop! fit the theme flawlessly. The spoken words in An Eye Is Upon You, Blast Off To Nowhere and Watch the Sky For Me compliment the CD perfectly, and Rob Zombie's vocals on Blast off to Nowhere make the song downright amazing. Not a problem here.

Overall Impression — 10
While this CD won't change anyone's opinion about the band, it's definetly a great CD. The best songs would have to be Supernova Goes Pop, When Worlds Collide, and Blast off to Nowhere, they are all awesome songs. This CD is a lot of fun to listen to, and would have to be replaced if lost/stolen. If you like to headbang, this is a good CD to get.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    This is the greatest CD of all time! When I get it from the States I'll have to write a review on it! =)