Transform review by Powerman 5000

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 20, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.9 (11 votes)
Powerman 5000: Transform

Sound — 10
This CD seems to have a theme of governmental corruption and nonconformity, and the songs all seem to fit nicely into this theme. The CD starts out with a spoken word track, basically sorting out the mess that the world seems to be in. Throughout the album, PM5K mocks society and how money driven people have become. As far as band members go, everyone does a good job: the guitar riffs are catchy and solos rock, bass lines work nicely, drum lines fit good, and singing is perfect. The album doesn't water down in the end like a lot of other albums do, either.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics on Transform work flawlessly with the themes of corruption and nonconformity, with songs like Theme to a Fake Revolution and Transform being perfect examples. Every song is a great example of this theme, and the singing works well in each track. Spider's voice is a perfect fit for the band, which makes the music even better.

Overall Impression — 10
This album seems a lot more thought out than their first album, Tonight the Stars Revolt, which is still a good album. It is a lot of fun to listen to/sing in the car, and there isn't a bad song. If you like any of their other CDs, this is a good one to buy.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Actually a lot of the album is about nihilism and how meaninglessness can incentivize people to become part of a group just for entertainment. Some examples of nihilistic comments include: In "A is for Apathy" they say "So many reasons to just do nothing" and "Everyone is here but nobody showed up". In "Tranform" they say "The truth is there is no truth" and "I've seen it all twice before". In "On top of the world" they say "There is no difference between me and you" and "What's on top of the world when you get there" (implying nothing). And in a track titled "Song About Nuthin" they say "This ain't a song about anyone or anything" and "This could have been about so many things but it's not". Most of the other tracks are comments on conformity.