Frizzle Fry review by Primus

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1990
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (18 votes)
Primus: Frizzle Fry

Sound — 9
Frizzle Fry is the first studio album by alternative, bass driven band band Primus. It was released in the early '90s when there was a lot of ground breaking music going around. This is no exeption. Primus are in their greatest from on this album and new and inovative ideas are shown throughout the record. It contrasts greatly to the monotonous almost boring Brown Album when they changed drummers from Tim Alexander to Brain. Les's vocals are in top form here and his bass is tearing through the mix with interesting bass chords and solos. After just listening to it once you can pick out the many different styles of music they are influenced by. The whole album has a powerful raw band sound simmilar to the previous live album Suck On This but without the stuffups. This is full on Primus at their prime.

Lyrics — 8
Les has never been a fantastic vocalist and never will be but it's almost like that's what he wants. His lyrics are forcefull and just out right quirky. He writes about war (Too Many Puppies) and also about a fisherman losing his life at sea (John the Fisherman). To the untrained Primus listener his vocals could be taken as just dribble but there is meaning behind it all.

Overall Impression — 10
I have been listening to this record for years and everytime I listen to it I recognise something new. It is one of the most inovative records of modern music by one of the most innovative bands. It is hard to say what Primus sounds like. Larry LaLonde (guitarist) says his guitar parts sound like a robotic space chicken or something simmilar. What other bands would say something like that. The album (like primus) could be taken the wrong way, but you have to listen with an open mind and remember they are innovators.

9 comments sorted by best / new / date

    spegetti western is the best song on the album, just makes me shivver