Less Talk, More Rock review by Propagandhi

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 21, 1996
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.3 (10 votes)
Propagandhi: Less Talk, More Rock

Sound — 10
Propagandhi is a hardcore/political punk band reigning from Brandon Manitoba. They are signed to a political influenced record label by the name of The G7 Welcoming Committee (which was actually formed by Chris and Jord of Propagandhi in 1997), which has produced many other great bands by the name of The Weakerthans, The (International) Noise Conspiracy and Malefaction. With Chris Hannah on Guitar/Vox, Todd Kowalski on Bass/Vox and Jord Samolesky on Drums/Back Vox, Propagandhi fromed in 1986 and played their first [major] show in 1991. The music on this 1996 released album are very laid back with relaxed vocals and a hard message, therefore giving them a very unique sound.

Lyrics — 10
This album features heavely political music that not only gets the message through but leaves you wanting more. Propagandhi deals with most of the problems that are present in the world as of today, and are not at all afraid to speak there mind through their lyrics.

Overall Impression — 10
Less Talk, More Rock is another great album from Propgandhi, it's aggressive and fast while they still manage to get their significant message through their lyrics. This album deals with all sorts of left-handed politics from songs that deal with Homophobia (Less Talk, More Rock), Racism (The Only Good Facist Is a Dead Facist) and Animal Rights/Liberation (Nailing Descartes to the Wall and Meat Is Still Murder). This C.D. is definitly worth your money because not only your getting great Canadian punk, your also helping a great cause. A portion of the proceeds of this album go to Food Not Bombs, AK Press, People Acting for Animal Liberation and the Winnipeg Naturopthic Clinic. This album is essential to any punk collection, as Less Talk, More Rock is definatly one of Propagandhi's best albums. This heavely politicaly influenced music will leave you wanting more!

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Few corrections: -Propagandhi is from Winnipeg, not Brandon (trust me, I live in Brandon). -On this record, John K. Samson played bass. Todd's first release with Propagandhi was 2001's Today's Empires, Tomorrow's Ashes. Have a good day!
    I wish people would stop saying these guys are leftists. They state clearly (on their wesbite) that they don't categorize themselves but only criticise the politics that they see and what impact they have on the world.