In Transience review by Psychoanalysis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 6, 2010
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 6.7 Neat
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)
Psychoanalysis: In Transience

Sound — 7
Originality is hard to find in the music industry today. Labels are constantly producing generic metal mops in a desperate bid to gain money. This makes it even more difficult for the non conformist's of the music world to get exposure and gain renown. A band that is original and deserves exposure is difficult to stumble across, but they are out there. Bands such as Psychoanalysis, a death metal band from Dunfermline, Scotland. It consists of five members, Gavin Hood on vocals and guitar, Finlay West on Guitar, Chris Ryan on bass and Douglas Harden on drums. Although they have yet to produce an album, they have released a demo CD consisting of three tracks: "In Transience", "Nexus" and "Ashen". The originality of the album is bursting at the seams. This isn't the common, churned, generic nonsense that you'd expect in a death metal band. The reason this isn't just another generic death metal band is due to the amount of true melodies within their songs, almost blasphemous to the world of heavy metal. However, they pull it off with ease, melding their fast alternate picking with an over abundance of guitar solo's that will surely knock you off your feet. The overall sound is somewhat similar to Necrophagist meeting Chris Adler. The vocals whilst good, have a lot to be desired for. They rarely change range, which although common to death metal, is not a particularly good sign. If the vocals changed even slightly within the songs it would be a great improvement. The drumming is impressive throughout the CD, but unfortunately remains the same throughout each song. It would be interesting to see more drum fills or larger fast paced sections to truly flaunt the skills of Douglas. Every melodic texture within the song welds well together, which is both a testament to the recording team and the band itself.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics aren't all that you would expect in a death metal band, further indication that the band is truly original. The best lyrics on the CD can be found in the chorus for "Nexus", which is coincidentally the best song on the album. "Look from your seat of power/ into our blazing eyes/ and on this eleventh hour/ will you still feed us lies". Although not incredibly creative or impressive, it is still a change from the generic lyrics floating from the mouths of most bands today.

Overall Impression — 7
Definitely a band to keep an eye out for, and if possible go to one of their shows. A true light at the end of this generic metal tunnel that has kept our view narrowed. Great guitar work, from both the guitarists and the bassist. Whilst it is a generally good CD, there are things to be done to improve the overall quality of the songs. Such as trying out different ranges for the singers screams and trying to create different styles of riffs than those primarily found in the CD. Even if you're not a big fan of death metal music, I would suggest you check this band out.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date