Rated R review by Queens of the Stone Age

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 3, 2010
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (64 votes)
Queens of the Stone Age: Rated R

Sound — 10
This is the second LP from Josh Homme's Desert Troopers, and it does not dissapoint. I personally feel that this is the most varied and unique output by Homme and co, as it captures the Queens sound that I hold so dear. It has the unique, heavy bassy Queens guitar sound, and is significant, as it is the debut of Mark Lanegan, and is the first time that Nick Oliveri plays bass on a Queens record. The cover of the album varies from version to version, and the vinyl was actually titled "Rated X".

Lyrics — 10
Homme is one of my favourite lyricists, and this is him at the top of his lyrical game. The lyrics to "Feel Good Hit Of The Summer" are often criticised, but this only means that they are being looked at from the wrong perspective. Sure, they are repetitive, but that's the point. That song is a pounding jam, and what better way is there to drill something into someone, than saying it 25 times the brilliance continues, and the lyrics to "Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret" are surely the best written about sex to date. "In The Fade" is another highlight, and the lyrics are delivered with the trademark Mark Lanegan style, complete with eerie guitar, and a fade out into the reprise of "Feel Good Hit." Pure musical gold.

Overall Impression — 10
This is my favourite Queens album, and really steps the game up for Desert Rockers everywhere. The album is strong from beginning to end, and the placement of the tranquil "Lightning Song" after the heaviest track on the album ("Tension Head") is a slice of genious. It is an album like no other, and Josh and his various musical guests (he seems to have an open door policy, working with countless musicians under the name Queens Of The Stone Age) will have a hard time matching it. It fulfills Josh's dream of letting sex bleed into the music, and will continue to get people jumping and dancing for years to come.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date