In Rainbows review by Radiohead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 10, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (280 votes)
Radiohead: In Rainbows

Sound — 9
Radiohead's latest work is symbolic of thier style as a band, it's singularity and pure independance as a piece demonstrated as much by the nature of the release and the pick your price downloads is further exemplified by the music itself. As is so typical of Radiohead the music seems to fit so well with the songs, Nude's pure simplicity which sets the tone for Thom's almost haunting lyrics are fantastic. Also the production and use of string on the album's hidden gem Faust Arp.

Lyrics — 8
The Lyrics of In Rainbows are yet again a trimumph and lyrical innovation on the part of Radiohead. Thom's almost haunting vocals fit so well other the almost eerie music of some of the tracks like Nude, Faust Arp, Reckoner and Videotape. But also his slightly more punchy lyrics more consistant of the OK Computer era can be heard as well in many other tracks on the album. Thom Yorke yet again shows great command over Falsetto in his singing.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall I'd give this album a 9/10 it's absolutely sublime, after the lengthy wait for an album including the fact that up until the 1st of October the album was without a title and was also rumoured to be released in March of 2008, Radiohead has been able to use skillful promotion due to the chose what you pay idea with the electronic media copies of the album, as well as dangling a tantalizing boxset at christmas with a second CD of tracks as well as Vinyl and Artwork. The album had some great songs and some fantastic songs but my 3 picks would have to be: Nude (for it's bleak if not haunted vocals and sparse music that somehow seems to perfect), Faust Arp (the Album's Hidden gem truly fantastic with acoustic guitar overlaid with a string arrangement and Thom Yorke's amazing singing), Weird Fishes/Arpeggi (the rapid almost electronic drum beat coupled with the gentle piano make this song almost sound resembelant of the later half of amnesiac, with it's more electronic feel with the vocals almost sounding like they come direct from Thom Yorke's solo work). I'd recommend everyone get this album if they can, even if you listen to it only once it's 40 minutes well spent.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date