The Bends review by Radiohead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 23, 2009
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.6 (118 votes)
Radiohead: The Bends

Sound — 10
The sounds on this album are absolutely awesome. Every type of guitar effect from wah to phaser to just plain distortion, some great keyboard effects as well. The drumming is superb, the bass is mostly quite simple and holds the songs together, and Thom Yorke's voice is at its best. This album is "Progressive Rock" - basically some distortion, some clean and some electronic sounds.

Lyrics — 10
As with most Radiohead albums, the lyrics are very clever, sometimes a little strange, and very well structured. The lyrics and the music are woven together wonderfully as well. Thom Yorke, as mentioned above, has an excellent singing voice - one of the b est male rock singers ever.

Overall Impression — 10
This was my favourite album for a long time and is still in my top 5. Every song is 5 star, tho' my favourite songs have to be The Bends, Iron Lung, and Street Spirit.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date