Evil Empire review by Rage Against the Machine

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 16, 1996
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (55 votes)
Rage Against the Machine: Evil Empire

Sound — 8
If you have heard RAtM's self titled or BoLA CDs than Evil Empire's sound will probably be familiar to you. The band's hard rock sounds are candy-coated with the wired, near techno-ish effect Tom creates with his pedals and pro guitboxing. there are also many more powerful, and evident bass work done, when compared to their debut, that further help to tug at the records seems, in order to pull it all together.

Lyrics — 10
As always, de la Rocha's soundings don't cease to dominate the record, and dominate they do. Right from the first track, it is evident of de la Rocha's heavy, take-no-prisoners lyrics, as they romp seamlessly through the world-political jungles, stepping on as many toes as possible in the 47 minutes the album runs for.

Overall Impression — 6
Although I am branding this disc with a mere 3, this is only due to the fact that the album lacks when compared with their previous album, and later albums as well. And even while this album gets more play than many of my CD's at home, it is subordinate to their other albums. If you are reading this review, looking for some insight and encouragement into buying this album, I recommend looking past it towards Battle of LA or their self-titled debut album first.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date