Rage Against The Machine review by Rage Against the Machine

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 3, 1992
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (186 votes)
Rage Against the Machine: Rage Against The Machine

Sound — 10
Rage Against The Machine is one of the most original bands to date. Their combination of rap and rock is fantastic. The album is very guitar-oriented also. Please excuse Mr. Tom Morello for his obnoxious noises! He is being creative and also many of the solos are very tough to play. The bassist also does a terrific job. Songs like "Killing In The Name" and "Take The Power Back" are songs agaisnt the government. "Wake Up" is about racism. Each song is good and deserves a spot on the record.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics on the album were very rebellious. Every song is spoken, or screamed, which adds to the style. The only issue with the lyrics is that most of the time the same ones a repeated through out the song. Songs like "Killing In The Name" and "Settle For Nothing" are good examples of that.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is Rage's best. It is probably one of the best rap-rock albums out there. The most impressive songs are "Killing In The Name," "Bullet In The Head," "Know Your Enemy," and "Wake Up." The guitar parts are amazing, and the music is very powerful. Definitly worth a listen.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date