Liebe ist für alle da review by Rammstein

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 20, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (134 votes)
Rammstein: Liebe ist für alle da

Sound — 9
Rammstein have went back to their roots and revitalized their original sound while still producing a new album that isn't a Part II to any of their previous releases. From start to finish, this album is very solid and is far from a disappointment. Heavy guitar riffs, a little electronic sounds in the background, great bass lines, and of course Till's haunting voice throughout it all. Schneider's drumming has progressed from previous albums, seeming more intricate and quick that before (notably on the title track, "Liebe ist fr alle da'). The guitars are heavy and thick but not as "thrashy" as they were on Sehnsucht- this may be good for some but missed by others. Songs such as 'Haifisch' and 'Pussy', are a little more electro than one would expect from Rammstein, yet these songs are amazing still. The sound is a little polished and not quiet as raw but being their sixth studio release, it could be a lot more commercial than it is. Till does more melodic singing, showcasing his array of styles. The chorus of 'Ich tu dir Weh', the intro for 'Rammlied' and throughout 'Frhling in Paris' and 'Roter Sand' are good examples. The album lacks any prominent guitar solos that were scattered throughout earlier works though. The sound on this album is unmistakably Rammstein and the effort, sweat and undoubtably blood that went into this masterpiece is evident. The Special Edition has three additional 'original' songs, 'Fhre mich', 'Donaukinder' and 'Halt'. 'Liese' is 'Roter Sand' with different lyrics and obviously 'Roter Sand (Orchester Version)' is an enhanced version of the song. From this disc, 'Fhre mich' and 'Halt' stand out as amazing songs that should have made the cut for the standard edition. 11 songs seems to be a magic number for the band but these songs are so great, I think they had to release them somehow and hence the Special Edition.

Lyrics — 8
80% in German, 15% in English (Pussy) and 5% in French (Frhling in Paris) The lyrics for this album won't be of any surprise to a true Rammstein fan. They are just as dark and gory as any of Till's prior work. Rammlied is a an ode to all Rammstein fans saying that the band is back and ready to conquer. Ich tu dir Weh is about causing pain for one's own pleasure. Waidmanns Heil isn't as horrific as usual but the classic scenario of the hunter and the prey is very masculine and easily a Rammstein topic. Haifisch is yet another song that goes out straight to the fans. The band needs the fans as the fans need the band. B******* stands for Bckstab, a made-up word meaning "whatever you want". The chorus is possibly the most heavy, bludgeoning of the whole album. Possibly about self-understanding, as usual, this song is open to many different interpretations. Frhling in Paris is the 'love song' of the album. Admittedly my least favorite, this song has good lyrics but the combination with the music just doesn't strike a chord with me. I can see that this song may be the 'you either like it or you don't like it' song. Wiener Blut is being called Mein Teil pt II. Drawing direct inspiration from another criminal case, this song has haunting... disturbing lyrics. The Austrian case of Josef Fritzl piqued the interest of the band and they have simply put that scenario to music. These lyrics show just how depraved that man was! Pussy is about...take a guess! The chorus and parts of the verse are in English. A pornographic poem would be a suitable description of this song. As always, Rammstein touch on many taboo topics. Liebe ist fr alle da seems to be about masturbation. In ones imagination, everyone can find love... Of some sort. Mehr is a catchy song with lyrics of excessiveness and greed. The realization that this is the second to last song of the album, will be making you wish that there is More. Roter Sand lyrically is very poetic and will be loved by many. A sorrow filled song about heartbreak and is reminiscent of Romeo and Juliet.

Overall Impression — 9
Unlike Metallica's and other bands 'comeback' albums, Liebe ist fr alle da was more than well worth the wait! A mature sound while not losing touch with the earlier days, this album is a strong contender for all-time favorite. Heavy guitar riffs and although not as fast paced as I may have wanted, still amazing! A die-hard Rammstein fan, I am probably one of the most critical listeners and I am happy to say that I love this album. As of today, my favorite songs are 'Ich tu dir Weh', 'Waidmanns Heil', 'Haifisch', 'B*******', 'Wiener Blut', 'Pussy' and 'Mehr'. The Special Edition disc I haven't listened to a lot yet, but I can say that 'Fhre mich' should have made the standard edition cut. 'Halt' is another fantastic song fromt the Special Edition. If this CD was ever lost, scratched, even if one track skipped a bit, I'd be rushing to the store to buy another copy immediately!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date