...And Out Come The Wolves review by Rancid

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 22, 1995
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.6 (48 votes)
Rancid: ...And Out Come The Wolves

Sound — 10
The sound on the recording is clean without being over produced. The Album range from strait punk rawk to swinging ska to uplifting oi. Rancid manages to fuse these styles into their own unique sound. The guitar rifts are mainly solid power chord and ska chord compinations but with enough easy on the ears solos to keep you musically fulfilled. The base lines however are a bass players dream, Matt Freedmand (bass) drives the songs with difficult but very enjoyable playing complete with several solos. The music flows so smoothly and powerfully you can feel the passion that band has for what they play.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics all flow perfectly with the music and capture the bands feelings of growing up and living in california as well as touring and other life experiences. Insightful, honest, passionate as well as entertaining the lyrics are both strait forward and unniversally appealing. Don't expect any Celieve Dion vocal quality though, both singers sport harsh voices and accents.

Overall Impression — 10
More evolved than ealier albums such as the harsh angry style of Rancid's first self-titled album, but refined in sound never in passion and feeling. And out come the wolves encompasses all aspects of Rancids music and is the best representation of their music as a whole. All the songs work together perfectly yet range so much as to never get repeditive, an impressive feat from an album with a total of 19 songs on it. You can listen again and again and never be bored and always be inspired and entertained by this album. I have bought it again when it was broken once.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date