Indestructable review by Rancid

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 19, 2003
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 7 (48 votes)
Rancid: Indestructable

Sound — 8
Rancid utilizes a wide range of sound on Indestructible, from the ska-tinted Red Hot Moon to the pure distorted force of the title track. Carrying the torch from some of The Clash's most anthemic music, Rancid uses the classic 'melody punk' style in many of the songs. Start Now is the best song on the album, and is absolutely anthemic. Arrested In Shanghai is by no means the best track, but has a definite 'groove' to it. Sound gets an overall 8/10.

Lyrics — 8
Quoting Rancid frontman Tim Armstrong: "The record deals with the human sprit." Indeed it does. The lyrics are at their best in Arrested In Shanghai and Start Now, with the former being about the massacre in Tian An Men Square, and Start Now defying the gathering Bush/Cheny apocalypse. In the single for the CD, "Fall Back Down", Tim talks about his divorce, and how he feels really screwed up, but his friends can help him back up again. It's basically about the power of friends. Otherside is the most emotional song on the CD, being about the death of Lars Fredrickson's brother Robert. The lyrics are well chosen and often catchy, and make the CD worth listening to.

Overall Impression — 8
In comparison to Rancid's other opus, 1995's ...And Out Come the Wolves, Indestructible is not as good. However, it is a good album, and could be categorized as not Hardcore Punk, but as almost-pop-punk. The sound has been softened since Wolves, but is still good. The best songs are "Red Hot Moon", "Start Now", "Fall Back Down" and "Indestructible". Basically, the first 5 tracks are the best. The others are okay, but not super-duper. If you are a fan of Rancid, buy this CD. If not, try it at a listening post and see what you think.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date