Randy Montana review by Randy Montana

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 26, 2011
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)
Randy Montana: Randy Montana

Sound — 8
Simple. Catchy. Relatable. Randy's not breaking down any walls with his first album, but it's definitely still worth a listen. His nearly Taylor Swift-esque combination of pop and country is sure to break through to the mainstream in a matter of years. His combination of relatable lyrics, catchy country hooks, singable lead lines, memorable riffs, and the occassional guitar solo make this one of the better country records of 2011.

Lyrics — 9
While sometimes a bit cliche, Randy takes the listener on an emotional rollercoaster. While the majority of this album will have you asking who hurt you Randy? The rest will take you through meeting the perfect girl with "1000 Faces", learning to move on from a relationship with "Back Of My Heart", working a 5-9 with "Assembly Line", and regretting a "new friend from the bar" with "Burn These Matches" to name a few of the roads Randy will take you down.

Overall Impression — 8
This is an album with very few filler songs. One could make an arguement that "Goodbye Rain" and "Last Horse" are the two worst songs, but they would each be solid songs on nearly any other country songs. "Burn These Matches", despite its almost Tommy Tutone style Singing of phone numbers, "1000 Faces", and "Reckless" are my personal favorites from this album. Definitely give it a listen!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date