Innocence & Instinct review by RED

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 10, 2009
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (70 votes)
RED: Innocence &  Instinct

Sound — 8
The Christian alternative rock band RED has one of the most unique sounds in the Religious music scene, their debut 'End Of Silence' was full of beautiful lyrics, catchy riffs, and songs that you could listen to forever. In their newest release 'Innocence and Instinct' they have improved in some areas, yet became a bit more generic. The lyrics are subtly religious, thus not overwhelming you with their beliefs. Some songs on the album sound a bit alike, and aren't as memorable as previous hits like 'Breathe Into Me' and 'Hide'. This is a very good album all the same. They still have the familiar and awesome violin parts, some OK riffs, and decent drumming. They're are no solos as usual but it is made up for the brilliant vocals. Definitely worth the purchase.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are predictably about God and faith, overall they fit well in with the instrumental sound. Some memorable songs are 'Shadows' and 'Death Of Me'. Which can touch your heart with beauty, yet not blatantly attempt to convert you. They're is even some screaming added this time, which isn't great but wouldn't be out of place in a Screamo album. Being a Christian, thinking about the lyrical themes and message really enlightened me emotionally and religiously. Whether you are a Christian or not, you'll be sure to enjoy the vocals nonetheless.

Overall Impression — 7
Overall, this album has many ups and downs. Some songs hook you right away and others just bore you. The band has improved since the last album, but this one is not quite as memorable as the latter. If you're new to the band, pick it up, if you're already a fan, pick it up as well, if you can ignore some minor flaws and changes.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date