Sick Transit Gloria Mundi review by Red Harvest

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 28, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 9 (1 vote)
Red Harvest: Sick Transit Gloria Mundi

Sound — 8
This is weird but good, every so often you come across something like this that dosn't fit into any particular genre. Red Harvest are a German band pushing the limits of metal, it's like death metal, black metal, australian war metal and dance music all rolled up into one. The guitars are heavy and the bass just follows it up along with some simple but solid drums and some techno sounds thrown in here and there. The tones are menacing, grim, nihilistic and at times questioning.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are very slured and a bit distorted at times. They are about a range of things from nihilistic takes on real life to fictional (or atleast I hope) warnings that we are being grown and harvested by greater beings, a bit matrix-ish don't you think? But still it's interesting and leaves you wondering "imagine if that's realy true, imagine if everything we know is a lie, what is real?" quite deep and catachizing.

Overall Impression — 6
It's worth a listen and you probably wont have heard anything along these lines before, so you therefor have no idea what it sounds like and should listen to afew tracks to get the jist of what's been laid down in this review; you might like this but you might not because it dosn't appeal to any particular taste.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date