Blood Sugar Sex Magik review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 24, 1991
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.6 (280 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: Blood Sugar Sex Magik

Sound — 10
This is probably the Chili's most creative record. The impression of the disc is very unique. One of the great things about RHCP is that you cannot place them under a specific style. In this album, that becomes very clear. The album blasts off with "The Power Of Equality", a rap-rock jam about rebellion against the government. The album continues on to different styles in songs like "Breaking The Girl," "I Could Have Lied," "Give It Away," the title track "Blood Sugar Sex Magik," the famous ballad "Under The Bridge," and ending on a goofy quick song "They're Red Hot." The musicianship on this album is nothing but amazing. John Frusciante did an excellent job of including a wide variety of chord styles, while Chad Flea basically scalloped his bass on songs like "Naked In The Rain."

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics on this album are very interesting. Obviously they aren't very child-friendly but add very unique sounds to the music. Anthony Kiedis seemed to take very interesting topics for the songs like "Mellowship Slinky In B Major," "Funky Monks" and "Apache Rose Peacock." The lyrics are also extremely sexually related, and not metaphoricly either. Songs like "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" and "Sir Psycho Sexy" are good, a crude, examples of that. Anthony Kiedis proves his skill on this album.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is one of the Chili's best. Musically, against Californication and By The Way, it is much much better. It carried a handful of hits and showed the bands more creative side. The most impressive songs are "Under The Bridge," "Give It Away," "Suck My Kiss" and "Breaking The Girl." This is definitly worth a listen.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    the only part i really like about the Chili Peppers is John Frusciante. great guitarist and songwriter.