By The Way review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 9, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 5.5 (346 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: By The Way

Sound — 10
Their eighth studio album finds the Chili's exploring their more melodic, harmonic side, like Californication, but without losing their gritty funky side of BloodSugarSexMagik. Fans of the gentle side, and the fierce side to the Chili Peppers will love this album. The title tracks melodic intro quickly turns into a funky bass riff and lyrics are barked by Kiedis. The more melodic, soft songs like Dosed and The Zephyr Song mix in well with the old school Chili Peppers style on Don't Forget Me and Can't Stop. There is also some Spanish Guitar on Cabron.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are, as always brilliant and sung by Kiedis with a passion that makes you want to listen.

Overall Impression — 10
Another brilliant album from one of the worlds truley great bands.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date