By The Way review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 9, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 5.5 (347 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: By The Way

Sound — 10
Well given previous albums, this was an absolutely perfect way to carry on the RHCP legacy. Flea is probably one of the most inovative bassists in the world at the moment, and John Frusciante is nothing short of a legend either. There is a mixture of styles on the album as well, to suit everybody. Tracks such as 'By The Way', 'Throw Away Your Television', 'Minor Thing' and 'Can't Stop' appeal to the hardcore Chili fans, whereas tracks like 'Universally Speaking' and 'Cabron' along with the genius collaboration in 'On Mercury' will blow just about anyone away. And they've also ditched the long intros. That could be a good or a bad thing depending on your views of previous albums.

Lyrics — 10
Yes, sometimes the lyrics can be a little random and maybe even completely confusing at some points, but when you listen to it even just once the words will stick in your head forever. The lyrics are just so well written that unless you are reading the lyrics off a piece of paper you will be left with the feeling that the song changes meaning. And once you know what the words are, you can get the pleasure of knowing something your mate doesn't (although you could look rather stupid with some songs). And listen to the lyrics in 'Minor Thing'. Absolutely awesome. And Kiedis' voice. Amazing.

Overall Impression — 10
You can't compare the Red Hot Chili Peppers to any other band on the planet, they are just in a league of their own. Most impressive songs? Well, 'Venice Queen' will leave you amazed and bewildered, and 'Can't Stop' will want you coming back for more. Absolute genius. Get it now.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date