Californication review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 8, 1999
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 5.1 (640 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: Californication

Sound — 10
This album truly defines the sound of, in my opinion, the greatest band on earth. Not entierly guitar orientated like other bands but has each member being just as loud, just as glorious and just as brilliant as the others. John and Flea are possibly the greatest double act in the history of any kind of rock music. They have great communication.

Lyrics — 10
These are in 3 categories: Genius (Around The World), absolutly barnstorming (Parralell Universe) or completly insaine and make no sense what so ever (Get On Top) all of it brilliant and stunning.

Overall Impression — 10
This album holds the greatest song in the history of all time in "Parralell Universe." It is harder, edgier, and just plain better than any other song. It also possess something that no other songs on earth has. Complete unity. Other highlights include "Around The World," "Californication," "Scar Tissue" and "Get On Top." There is no poor song on this record. It screams with majesty as one of the great all time records.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date