Californication review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 8, 1999
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 5.1 (640 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: Californication

Sound — 9
"Dream of Californication..." That's what most fans thought after One Hot Minute was released. The sound that John Frusciante's guitar makes is amazing. And he returned from rehab to do this album. The minute a Red Hot Chili Peppers song goes on you Know it's them. This may be one of the best Red Hot Chili Peppers albums ever. If you don't own this album then go out and get it because it is great!

Lyrics — 8
Anthony Kiedis brings the Chili Peppsers together. Him and John on harmonies sound great together. The lyrics are quick and up beat for most songs like "Around the World" and "Right On Time". The other songs are more slower and show Kiedis's true ability. Songs like "Otherside" and "Californication".

Overall Impression — 9
This album easily compares to many other Chili Peppers albums. This is a great piece of work. The best songs on the album are definetly "Around the World", "Otherside", "Parallel Universe", and "Californication". The guitars sound great in each of these songs. Drums are quick and up beat. Lyrics are put together and go great with the music. Those are things to love about this album. So go get this album and "Dream of Californication..."

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    class album! bt one hng dat people keep sayn, its nt reali a guitar album, its nt reali sposed to be, its funk rock! the bass has more to do in it!