Greatest Hits review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 18, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 6.4 (209 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: Greatest Hits

Sound — 10
The finer points of the Red hot Chili Peppers guitar, bass, and drum skills are shown in this album without a doubt. Without either of those components could they have recorded such hits as Under The Bridge, Higher Ground, and Give It Away. Their sound is impeccable, and so is their playing.

Lyrics — 10
The Red Hot Chili Peppers have gotten along with the amazingly deep songwriting of lead singer, Anthony Kiedis. His lyrics are many to which people can remember and base real-life situations on.for example and excerpt from his Californication album, the song Californication. "Destruction leads to a very rough road. But it also breeds creation." And it is those type of lyrics which have burst them on the ballot for a chance to be indicted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Overall Impression — 10
The Red Hot Chili Peppers to me are the funkiest white boys in the business today. They have recorded modern hits such as Dani California, and Snow (Hey Oh), but they have been doing it for years. Which shows completely on this masterpiece collaboration. Even not on their latest album but the one before featured hits such as Can't Stop (which is stuck in my head as I am writing this) and the song By the Way, which is a perfect mix of hard funk and soft guitar riffs. You listen to songs like Higher Ground; where unbelievable bass lines by none other than the amazing Flea, are incorporated by the late great Hillel Slovak (RIP), and these are the tunes that have slowly blown them to the top of the music scene. Other softer song they have done with many very creative and soulful guitar riffs include Under the Bridge, The Zephyr Song, and Californication. they have been here for almosi 25 years and they're here to stay.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    the only thing that makes this album incomplete is the fact that they didnt include cant stop.
    Great collection of their greatest hits, 2 extra songs i like, love all peppers songs
    A good collection for the casual chili peppers fan, but the fact that it only has 1 song from their first 4 albums, and 1 from one hot minute makes it pretty lacking IMO. Its a good way to get introduced to RHCP though.