One Hot Minute review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 12, 1995
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.7 (83 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: One Hot Minute

Sound — 10
The sound of 'One Hot Minute' is a lot heavier compared to all the other Chili Pepper albums, this is mainly due to Dave Navarro on guitar, the album seems darker but at the same time energetic. The album still features more laid back tracks aswell such as the gorgeous 'Walkabout' and despondent 'My Friends'

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics reflect some of the lowest points in the history of the Peppers, especially in 'Deep Kick', but it also has lighter lyrics, such as in 'Walkabout', which I mentioned above, and the sexy tone of 'Falling into Grace'.

Overall Impression — 10
Although most people do not like this album (especially the Frusciante fans) I think it is one of the best albums the Chili Peppers have. I like the whole album and can't choose a favourite song. I have tried to find something I don't like about 'One Hot Minute' but in all honesty this is one album i cannot find fault with. I don't just recommend this for RHCP fans, but also those that would usually buy heavier music and still like a bit of that funk vibe.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date