Stadium Arcadium review by Red Hot Chili Peppers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 9, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 6.3 (2,359 votes)
Red Hot Chili Peppers: Stadium Arcadium

Sound — 10
It only takes one listen to understand the complexities in Stadium Arcadium. Though it has been a few years since the last RHCP album, the band maintains its "quirky" funk/alternative status, delivering an action packed 28 song LP. Overall, the sound is fantastic as is the quality and there is a catchy beat in each song that helps hinder the sometimes unruly lyrics.

Lyrics — 8
One of the songs on S.A. is clled "Torture Me", and is quite similar to some of the lyrics on this album. "Hump De Bump" is good, but I feel more stupid trying to comprehend the lyrics. Honestly, "Get On Top" from Californication was better than some of this. However, "Charlie", "Desecration Smile" and "Slow Cheetah" show that weird lyrics sometimes make a song all the more enjoyable.

Overall Impression — 10
I am not totally sure that this CD deserves a 10, as disc 1 is amazing while disc 2, is well, "disc 2". Mars seems like an add-on to the original slate and after 5 consecutive listens, it soesnt have that punch or catchiness that the first disc has. Otherise, the CD is extremely well done. The song selection and order are fantastic and it is a very endrung album that makes you want to listen to it. Buy it, and prepare to be mystified.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date