Stink review by Replacements

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (4 votes)
Replacements: Stink

Sound — 8
Stink, is the second release from minneapolis band, The Replacements and this review will cover the re-issue, with bonus tracks. The album is primarily a punk rock album, however it does flirt with sounds of other genres, such as on the track 'White And Lazy', which features a bluesy/country influenced sound at times. The sound can only be described as raw, or under produced to the benefit of the record. This allows the energy and sincerity of The Replacements and Paul Westerberg's vocal to shine through. Despite some songs going under two mintues, the guitar work shines through with short bursts of solos from lead guitarist, Bob Stinson. Although the rough sound is primary, The album begins to hint at what is to come from Paul Westerberg's songwritting on later albums, the key example on the extended re-Issue is the home demo of the track 'You're Getting Married' which features only Paul Westerberg. Though even on the tracks on the original release, you can begin to hear it also.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics, are to be honest, at times not at the forefront, mainly it's the sound of the songs it contributes to. With Westerbergs trademark style, the lyrics are when discovered insightful and clever though not revolutionary, they present an intresting picture.

Overall Impression — 8
This album/EP is criminaly underated. The Replacements main press attention came with the latter albums, but in terms of punk rock albums, this for me is up there with the best of the era. The obvious stand out track is the first track, Kids Don't Follow. I love the rawness of the record but would like some more of the melody, thrown in for good measure. Honestly, I bought this album by mistake (I wanted the later works), but it turned into a pleasent suprise.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date