Hellbilly Deluxe review by Rob Zombie

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 25, 1998
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (17 votes)
Rob Zombie: Hellbilly Deluxe

Sound — 10
What can I say but wow. Admittedly not as good as White Zombie, but still kick ass. To start out, Superbeast is a heavy-ass song in itself. The guitars keep you listening, and the lyrics are barely audible. What more do you want? Dragula. A legend in itself. You cannot play this song, and skip over it. Living Dead Girl. I don't even need to explain that. Demonoid Phenomenon is just amazing. Goes from sort-of-techno-heavy metal to makes-your-head-explode crazy. Listen and be amazed.

Lyrics — 9
Good lyrics, but they don't make a whole lot of sense. That's all I got. Other than that, it's great. But even though the lyrics aren't exactly sensible, the music makes up for it. Listen to Superbeast. You will know what I am talking about. Everyone loves to wake up to the scariest song in Zombie's new arsenal.

Overall Impression — 10
Go buy this album right now if you haven't already. It's heavy, insane, and has that touch of horror that Zombie is known for. Nearly every song has that horror-film feel combined with the sound effects of a porn to make it good. If this album ever breaks, it isn't possible to not buy another one. Definitely a required Zombie album.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    this album has some bloody awesome songs on it. My problem with it is that there is also some shit on it. It's like Zombie didn't have quite enough material to fill an album. So he coloured in the blanks with random shit. I mean, Perversion 99? SHIT! How to Make a Monster? SHIT! However, Dragula, Living Dead Girl, Superbeast, and Meet the Creeper all kick arse!