Past, Present & Future review by Rob Zombie

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 23, 2003
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 5
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 6.3 Neat
  • Users' score: 8.1 (22 votes)
Rob Zombie: Past, Present & Future

Sound — 7
Rob Zombie became very famous when he left White Zombie, his previous band. Now, after just 3 albums, Rob decided to make a compilation of his greatest hits, from White Zombie to unreleased tracks, from past to future. The songs played by White Zombie, aren't very heavy, even if the drummer surprised me with some incredible drum solos ("Supercharger Heaven"). One of the best points of this cd is that you can hear rob's voice changing during the album: at the beginning of the CD, Rob really sings like Michael Jackson, and at the end of it, he sings like Marylin Manson, screaming, with girls singing on the background! For the songs he performed in solo, Rob made some really good things, even if the guitar sometimes "disappears" in the middle of a song.

Lyrics — 5
Rob Zombie's lirycs are very simple lyrics, where as White Zombie's lyrics are more long, more difficult to follow. The big problem is sometimes you can't always understand what he's saying: Rob's voice is very special in fact. Rob has a very particular style: his voice just never changes from tone, and what a pity.

Overall Impression — 7
This compilation is a very good CD, and there's also a dvd of all his videos given with it. Rob zombie is definitely one of the best musicians in this world. Helped by Kerry King (Slayer), Tommy Lee, Mix Master Mike, DJ Lethal (Limp Bizkit), Emm Gryner, etc, Rob made some very good things, and even directed some horror films ("The House Of 1000 Corpses," "The Devil's Rejects")! Mr. Zombie isn't just a musician, he's an artist, and this CD proves it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date