Stages review by Rosesdead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 28, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (14 votes)
Rosesdead: Stages

Sound — 9
Rosesdead have come up with an amazing sound. They released a demo before this and it was all pretty well hardcore with nothing different then most hardcore bands. But their first full release is packed with crushing riffs, heavy breakdowns, melodic breaks and numerous all-instrumental songs. Sometimes you wonder while listening, how they thought up some of this stuff. They're two guitarists battle back and forth and it is hard to plant the terms "lead" or "rhythm" guitarist on either one. Lots of tapping and fast hammer-ons and also slow quiet parts.

Lyrics — 9
The vocalist from Rosesdead, is also the vocalist in Fordirelifesake. Lyrics go fairly well with the song and it seems in the first half of the 11 track CD, that the lyricist seems to be questioning and lost, but seems to find himself near the end of the album. The CD is full of positive lyrics also and they don't put profanities in this album. The vocalist has a very unique scream and is very recognizable if you hear him.

Overall Impression — 10
I can't say that there is anything I don't like about the album. Song lengths average between 3 and 5 minutes and are a solid songs. Not one song on the CD makes me want to skip it. They're guitarist left right after the CD was released to pursue a career, and as of now they are searching for a new one. Pick up this copy incase there is a musical change for the next CD. These guys also come out of Oakville, Canada and have an amazing live show and really give you your moneys worth. Best songs Now, This Feels Like The End, All The Same: All Different, Night Danger, A Wake In The Water. Definantly worth the 10-13 bucks and would pick it up again if lost or stolen. Pick it up today!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date