Royal Blood review by Royal Blood

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 2, 2
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (51 votes)
Royal Blood: Royal Blood

Sound — 8
The British band Royal Blood is a band that consist of two members, Mike Kerr on bass and vocals, and Ben Thatcher on drums. This is the band's first record and does it hold up? Well, yes, it does. The band delivers a rock solid debut album that consist of only bass, vocals, and drums and this is more mind blowing than anything. The record starts with the track "Out of the Black" which is one song that just grabs you and makes you want to check out the rest of the record. 

For the most parts, the band's debut delivers, with some tracks that are more easily forgotten than others. The tracks like "Blood Hands" which has a very Wolfmother sound to it in an overall perspective and gets very stale very quickly. "You Can Be So Cruel" is not one of the bright shining lights on this record either, the track that is rather good the first few listens but then for the most parts becomes one of the tracks you'll skip to get to the better parts of the record. However, there are tracks on this album that are overall very impressive songs. Songs such as "Loose Change," "Little Monster" and "Ten Tonne Skeleton" are tracks that has this huge arena rock vibe to them, and it is these tracks that makes the band stand out from many other bands that came out in 2014.

Lyrics — 7
The lyrics on the album are not lyrics that are something unique or different from many others, but this doesn't mean the lyrics are bad, they are just not what makes this record stand out. There are parts that are easily sing along songs, such as the track "Little Monster" and "Better Strangers." The song that, in my opinion, stands out the most in the lyrical department on this record is the track "Loose Change," with a bridge that easily makes Mike Kerr's writing skills stand out in a great way.

Overall Impression — 9
In overall this album is a very solid record and deserves it's place in any persons record shelf, with a great majority of impressive songs that has great replay value. Both Mike Kerr's vocals and bass lines and Ben Thatcher's drum tracks complement each other in an astounding way. The record, just like every other record out there, has some flaws. The least memorable songs on the record "You Can Be So Cruel" and "Blood Hands" are songs that could've been replaced by the band's b-side track "Hole" which I absolutely advice any fan of the band to check out. However, with tracks such as "Out of the Black," "Ten Tonne Skeleton," "Loose Change," "Little Monster," and "Better Strangers" proves that this band is capable of producing some songs that'll make you want to revisit this album time and time again.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    If Queens of the Stone Age, The White Stripes and Arctic Monkeys somehow made a baby...this is what that baby would sound like. Absolutely phenomenal album, can't wait to hear more from them, these guys are going to be huge!