Worship Him review by Samael

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 8 (1 vote)
Samael: Worship Him

Sound — 8
Worship Him is the first Samael's full-length release (1990). At that time the band was composed of three members: Vorphalack (guitars, vocals), Xytraguptor (drums, keyboards) and Masmiseim (bass). Well, we can't say that the sound on the album is very good, but it isn't so bad; the guitars are quite aggressive, and we can't really hear the bass. But finally, it creates a dark atmosphere to the album. Moreover, note that Samael began with playing black metal, so the sound can be chosen on purpose. Most of the songs are quite are really low ("Worship Him", "Knowledge Of The Ancient Kingdom"), but others are very speedful ("Sleep Of Death", "The Black Face"). Also there are three instrumental songs on the album: "Rite Of Cthulhu", "Last Benediction" and "The Dark".

Lyrics — 7
Worship Him is a black metal album, so the lyrics are very dark, and are influenced by satanism ("Into The Pentagram", "Morbid Metal"). They are screamed by Vorphalack as if he was possessed and sometimes we can hear a kind of voice from beyond. But the lyrics aren't very special, they just respect black metal's customs.

Overall Impression — 8
Samael, on Worship Him, has surely been influenced by other black metal bands like Venom (the cover "Manitou" is available on the Deluxe Edition) or Bathory. Although being very brutal, this album has got a certain melody like in "Last Benediction". Later the band will turn to robotic/indus metal, like on the Ceremony Of Opposites album, released in 1994. I think the Worship Him's most impressive songs are "Sleep Of Death" and "The Black Face", but every one can find others better. The Deluxe Edition was released in 2005 and there are a few bonus tracks: "Manitou" (Venom cover), and songs recorded live in 1992 or 1993, which are "Total Consecration", "Until The Chaos", "Blood Ritual", "Rite Of Cthulhu", "After The Sepulture", "Beyond The Nothingness", "Worship Him" and "Morbid Metal". If you enjoy old black metal, buy this album. Et vive les petits Suisses!

2 comments sorted by best / new / date