Stay What You Are review by Saves the Day

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 10, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (7 votes)
Saves the Day: Stay What You Are

Sound — 10
The sound on the cd seems to fit in every way, for every song. With Ted and Dave's little use of power chords and more cleaner sounding tones, along with Eben's awsome bass riffs, with Bryan's drums, this cd makes it easily one of the best sounding cds I have ever heard. On this cd rather then sound like normal punk bands, then went in a totally different direction with Stay What You Are. Using grand organs, tamborines, and la la las rather then whoa whoa whoas, make this (again I must stress) a great cd.

Lyrics — 10
Holy crap! If you want one deep lyrical trip, forget Pink Floyd! After one listen to this cd in the dark, in the'll feel changed. This cd shows Chris Conely's more lyrical side with songs such as freakish, nightengale, firefly, and the ever so popular At Your Funeral. Like a said before, every little thing in this cd is perfect. The voice for this cd is just so perfect along with the back up vocals by the other members...GAH!!!lol. Chris's voice is pretty much perfect for this cd.

Overall Impression — 10
This was under vagrant records, but unlike the other cd's under equal vision, this is very more lyrical, better sounding, blibitty blah blah this cd kicks ass. The most impressive songs from the album, (2 of which they made music videos) are undoubtly Nightingale, At Your Funeral, Fiefly and Freakish. If this cd were stolen, I would go buy it. This is the cd to have if you wanna get into Saves The Day. This would also be a good cd for a g/f because there are some really deep love songs (i.e. Nightingale, Firefly, etc.) on it. A Must For Everyone!!!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date