Awake review by Secondhand Serenade

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 6, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.4 (52 votes)
Secondhand Serenade: Awake

Sound — 10
This album is a great one. The artist, John Vesely, produced it himself with absolutely no help. Every song is written by him about his life. John brings forth a brand new type of musical genre that we have rarely seen before, romantic acoustic with a touch of rock. He is an all around great performer and person. He replys to his fans on his Myspace page and willingly meets with them after concerts. This album is a perfect segway to his much antipated album "A Twist In My Story," due out in February.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are heartfelt. If you are looking for a song to sing to a girl, these are it. No girl could resist the loving and caring lyrics of Secondhand Serenade. John has an amazing vocal range that allows him to harmonize with himself on the tracks and produce stunning sounds. The ONLY downside to them is that he repeats himself ever so slightly.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is in a league of its own. He has still not been signed to a label so this album is everything John wanted it to be. No corporate bullshit, just straight music and passion. The most impressive song on his album is his single, "Vulnerable." It is his only music video and has been seen on MTV frequently. If mine was stolen, I would most definitely buy another.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date