Intervals review by See You Next Tuesday

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 14, 2008
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
See You Next Tuesday: Intervals

Sound — 9
See You Next Tuesday's second full length album Intervals is a departure from their previous work. Unlike The Parasite, CUNT's new album has less disorder and chaos in their songs and more organization and technicality. There seems to be a transition from their grind, crazy first album to a more death metal second album. While the songs only last a minute or two (or less), they flow right into each other to make the whole album one 30 minutish song. The songs still feature the old traits of The Parasite (crazy bass tapping, wack whammy bar riffs, etc.) with the addittion of some new sounds. The album starts out with 2 intro tracks, which start off slow with very simple drumming and funny sounding guitar slides and squeals. The album then picks up into some of the heaviest songs you will ever hear, with short breaks and breakdowns. Although some songs are a few seconds long, like Alpha and Omega, they still keep the album flowing and link the songs together in the best way. If you are a fan of deathmetal, deathcore, grindcore, or any type of heavy hitting metal, you will enjoy the songs on this album.

Lyrics — 10
Like their previous album, See You Next Tuesday's vocals range from the highest pitch shrieks to the lowest growls. Some tracks sound as if the vocalist uses a vocal processor, with an almost electronic finish to his voice. The lyrics compliment the vocals very well, although they are nearly incomprehensible on some tracks. If you read the lyrics, they seem to revolve around a struggling relationship that can't seem to work. While this seems almost like a sappy, gay, emo lovesong, the lyrics still remain hardcore throughout. The song Dedication to a New Era has short and catchy, yet brutal lyrics:"F**k you. Everyone of you. In my heart you're all dead." Although I am not sure if there is a concept or story behind the album, the lyrics are definately worth looking up.

Overall Impression — 9
This album marks a great shift for See You Next Tuesday. They have evolved from a joke band with a bunch of crash course songs into a technical band with highly complex songs that flow into each other. The album has plenty of high, mid, and low parts (soundwise) with short breaks, giving you just enough time to get the sense back in you to keep on listening to the ride through hell and back. Definately an album for fans of any type of death metal or grindcore. If you buy it, I promise that you will play it over and over again.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I didn't like Intervals as much as Parasite. How the reviewer said, it was more Death Metal than crazy Grindcore, but the randomness and absurdity of their first album was their trademark. It set them apart from every other Deathcore band out there. They were unique. Now my once favorite band has fallen into the deathcore trap: sooner or later, you're gonna sound like everything else.
    Just so you know, I still like this album, but it's completely unoriginal.