Let It Enfold You review by Senses Fail

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 7, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (67 votes)
Senses Fail: Let It Enfold You

Sound — 10
Senses Fail is a poppy screamo band, almost a staple of the genre. They combine dark lyrics with great guitar. The rhythm section isn't very good, but drummer Dan Trapp and bassist Mike Gilta hold every together well. This is almost the quinessential screamo CD, one that defines the genre.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics for this CD are very dark. Example: "But it's time to die. You're worth more dead." That sums up the entire album. Songs range from tales about murder to vigilantism. They almost don't fit, because their sound is poppy. But Buddy Nilelsen makes everything work and does it well.

Overall Impression — 9
I don't like poppy screamo very much. So when I first heard this CD I turned it off. But later, as I listened more closely to their driving guitar attack by Garrett Zablocki and Dave Miller, I gained more appreciation for this band. It is very well put together and tightly arranged. I own quite a few CD's, and this ranks high on the list, probably only behind Californication.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date