Still Searching review by Senses Fail

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 10, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (174 votes)
Senses Fail: Still Searching

Sound — 9
Senses Fail's album Still Searching comes off as 10 times as heavy as their previous CD Let it Enfold You. With new rythm guitarist Heath Sarceno on board, the guitars are heavier than ever and in one song, Shark Attack detuning down to drop C for improved tone. The vocals are also more brutal with more screams, and thicker more aggressive screams at that. All in all great sound from SF.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics on this album are utterly brilliant. The album's story is told from the point of view of the main character, a drug addict/alcohaulic who is slowly growing insane. In the most bluntly titled track, "Sick or Sane" the man is bothered by the question if he is crazy or not. Eventually the character seeks medical help and in "Still Searching" it is deeply implied that he is living in a mental institution. The character becomes depressed and in "All the Best Cowboys Have Daddy Issues" (a reference to an episode of "Lost") takes his own life by jumpin off a building. In "The Priest and the Matador" it explains his process of dying and what happens aroound him. He dies at "half past six" lying on the ground with medics trying to save him. The special edition of this album contains five bonus tracks: Battle Hymn, Champagne, Stretch Your Legs to Coffin Length, Mason's Revenge, Cinco de Mayo. These songs are in no way related to the storyline, but are great additions to the track listing. Battle Hymn, for example, is easily the heaviest song on the album. There is also a cover song, Salvation originally by the Cranberries. It is a great improvement from the original, in my opinion. Buddy Nielsen provides great vocals on all of the tracks including harsh screams in songs such as "Still Searching" and melodic moaning as in "Lost and Found."

Overall Impression — 10
This album is far better than Let it Enfold You. The songs are much more aggressive and up tempo at some points and at others a slower, softer, more melodic style of rock music. The best songs on the album are easily Shark Attack, Can't be Saved, and the album's climax, All the Best Cowboys Have Daddy Issues. Overall, a great album by an awesome band!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date