Consequences review by Shatterpoint

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 1 (1 vote)
Shatterpoint: Consequences

Sound — 10
As it reads in band's official biography, Shatterpoint was founded in the fall of 2001 with the primary goal to "kick some ass and drink some beer". I can't tell on the second part of this statement, but it certainly kicks major ass! "Consequences" CD made in the best traditions of thrash metal genre -- powerful riffs, extra heavy tone, quality solos, fast tempo drums and brutal voice of the singer -- it's all there. It's nice to see a band that can make that music in classic way of '80s and early '90s -- Shatterpoint doing this like there is no tomorrow and today, they are doing this in "I don't care" stlye, refusing all mainstream stuff. There are no evident styles (besides of thrash metal) involved into the record. Good thing! The opening track "Pleasure The Pain" serves the purpose to deep listener into the album -- it's a standard thrash song with well done riffs and double bass. "Crashin Down" shows impressive vocal hooks of the Shane Drake, that are continues in 3rd "Ended By Silence". Self-titled "Consequences" is too much of Slayer. Next track is slow-paced, doom ballad "When I die" with great lyrics and outro. Final track "No Man's Land" is a very good slow/metal combination with the most impressive solo on the album.

Lyrics — 8
Speaking of the vocals on this album, all of them are done by Shane Drake -- the voice of the band. Obviously he has a limited range in vocals, that's why most of them are done in a typical for that sort of music thrash style.

Overall Impression — 10
Shatterpoint deliver a killing mixture of hardcore metal riffs, ripping solos and perfect vocals -- they're made in a better way than most of your everyday music, this is even more impressive for an independent bans on a showstring budgeet. It sounds really fresh. Production quality is on the top spot as well. You need zero time to get used to the record -- it's catchy from the very first notes. Having said this, I still don't understand while this CD didn't became platinum yet... really?! On a side note, it's just 30 minutes long and probably one of the best 30 minutes in my recent headbangin' listenings.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date