Swoon review by Silversun Pickups

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 14, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (45 votes)
Silversun Pickups: Swoon

Sound — 9
Swoon is the second full length album by alternative rock band Silversun Pickups. The band incorporates keyboards, drums, bass and guitar into a indie/post modern rock sound. Often, they are compared to the Smashing Pumpkins sound on songs off their previous album, like "Lazy Eye" and "Drown" by Smashing Pumpkins. However on this album, they have changed their music to create a new sound for themselves.

Lyrics — 10
On the song "Panic Switch" the singer, Brian Aubert, sounds a little feminine and at times can transfix you more on his singing than on his lyrics or music itself. On the lyrics of another Silversun Pickups song, "Substitution", the lyrics meaning seems to convey abandonment issues with mixed feelings of remorse. In my opinion, on at least two of the songs the subject seems to be about a disorder or a psychological problem that the songwriter wrote about. All in all the music and lyrics fit well with one another.

Overall Impression — 9
Silversun Pickups do compare to fellow indie artists like The Black Keys and Arctic Monkeys; They also compare to alternative rock bands such as Red Hot Chili Peppers, Nirvana, and Local H. Their album is also similar to albums like Stadium Arcadium by Red Hot Chili Peppers, Magic Potion by Black Keys, and Good News for People Who Love Bad News by Modest Mouse. Some of the best songs off the album are "Growing Old is Getting Old," "Substitution," and "Panic Switch." All of the three songs have fast chord rhythms, distorted guitars, and heavy bass lines. At times the music could be a little too overdone and for that unpleasant. Either way it is a strong and well crafted album for Silversun Pickups that promotes the great music they make.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    I really hope we get to see more from this band. Music this original and catchy is a breath of fresh air compared to a lot of the bands that have come out in the last few years.