Show And Tell review by Silvertide

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 8, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.9 (25 votes)
Silvertide: Show And Tell

Sound — 10
Wow. That one word displays my impressions of Silvertide's debut album, "Show And Tell." Although Silvertide's sound has been associated with Guns N'Roses, Led Zeppelin, and Aerosmith, they have their own unique sound that refuses to fit into any genre. "Show And Tell" is a pleathera of full on rock, accompanied by the occasional ballad. Pure sex, drugs, and rock n' roll. Catchy guitar riffs by the talented Nick Perri head on the charge that builds to the chorus' and the wonderful feel-good solos. Two of the musicians (Perri included) were only 18 at the conception of this album yet it portrays musical maturity well beyond the ages of the members of the band. "Show And Tell" also portrays many varieties of musical advancement from the simple three chord riff to the intriquite technique of harmonies and rhythms. Overall the sound of this album is charasmatically jovial and full of energy with bits of remorse that tie it together beautifully.

Lyrics — 10
Many harmonies are used with multiple members of the band although Walt Lafty is the true main vocalist. Easiest comparisons relate Lafty to the Black Crowes frontman; no Steven Tyler, yet his vocal techniques and voice fit perfectly with the music. He displays some variation yet throughout most of the album his voice is perfect for the ol' down and dirty rock scene. There couldn't be a better choice. As far as lyrics go, themes of sex, drugs and rock n' roll are displayed throughout. Ex, "Devil's Daughter" (sex), "Mary-Jane" (drugs), and "S.F.C. (So F--king Crazy)" (violence). There are also the occasional few about the heart and one beautiful ballad entitled "Nothing Stays." The album ends in a two part anthem - fast upbeat intro to piano laced finale where "War, war, what is it for?" is repeated amongst all the members of the band.

Overall Impression — 10
Unbelievable. It is best described as simply complex. These contradicting terms give nothing away and that is the beauty of this album. Besides the solos and upbeat riviting riffs, there is something amazing lying underneath the the rest. Something you can't put your finger on that will draw you to this album. No track ever gets old and it is a definite must in any rock fans collection, no matter the genre. A definite 12 out of 10!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    ive been listenin to show and tell for 4 months and still am amazed at each song like the first time i heard it and great to know everyone else feels the same(its hard not to feel the same though,silvertide kicks ass)