Fallacy review by Simon Says Die

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 28, 2014
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 7 (1 vote)
Simon Says Die: Fallacy

Sound — 8
Simon Says Die has great unclean vocals, reminiscent of early work from After The Burial. What they lack in gutturals is made up for in highs, hitting notes many vocalists can only dream of, and extremely clearly at that. While SSD's unclean vocals are outstanding, the clean parts, while still sounding good, are very generic, and are almost identical to most bands in the same genre.

Aside from the occasional moment where you can actually hear the bass over the guitar and drums, "Fallacy" is very generic when it comes to guitar and bass guitar, with boring, expected breakdowns, although it's the standard in SSD's genre, and loved by many. The drums, however, are great on this album. Instead of just keeping time, like many other drummers do, SSD has outstanding grooves. If the guitarist and bassist would follow in their drummer's footsteps and try to sound different from other music, Simon Says Die could shape the next generation of metal, and possibly even create a new subgenre.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrics from "Fallacy" aren't themed like some nu-metal bands have, yet they carry meaning. With lyrics such as "I will scream for those lost and breathless" ("Breathless"), "I see deceit behind those eyes" ("Fallacy"), and "You showed me what true love was" ("Denial"), Simon Says Die wants people to listen to the lyrics instead of just the beat in their debut album "Fallacy." Their lead vocalist adds infliction to the lyrics, making some stand out and allowing the listener to share the emotion with them.

Overall Impression — 8
"Fallacy" by Simon Says Die is a great full-length album, with amazing sound quality for a debut record. The best songs on the album are, in my opinion, "Fallacy," "Denial," and "Powerless." The vocals are outstanding in some aspects while lacking in others. Lyrics are of unexpected quality, and are much better than most bands in this time. While guitar and bass are generic and expected, the beat of the drum will keep your head banging throughout the whole album. Overall, "Fallacy" is an amazing album that is definitely worth buying.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date