Reign in Blood review by Slayer

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 7, 1986
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.4 (202 votes)
Slayer: Reign in Blood

Sound — 10
Magnificient, brutal, eerie, fast as hell! This is Slayer at their very best. I think they broke the sound barrier a few times during the recording!

Lyrics — 10
Evil, foreboding, gruesome, satanic! The subject matter of the lyrics is great, from the sadism of Auschwitx doctor, Josef Mengele (Angel of Death) to dismemberment (Piece By Piece), and they're pulled off excellently by Tom Araya and his signature broad-chested vocals that leave you struggling to keep up with such songs as "Reborn".

Overall Impression — 10
Reign In Blood is the greatest album ever. Every song on it is absolutely amazing. It clocks in at just under a half hour but the spped at which it's delivered leaves you exhausted. It's worth buying on CD, cassette and vinyl so you'll be able to listen to it anywhere and in doubles so it won't matter if it's stolen or if you've loaned it to a friend. You must buy this album if you even remotely like thrash or if you've never heard thrash or Slayer before it is mandatory (suicide lol) to buy this.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date