Slipknot review by Slipknot

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 29, 1999
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.3 (238 votes)
Slipknot: Slipknot

Sound — 9
There are so many genres of music these days, and Slipknot seems to fit into alot. I've seen them put in the catagory of metal, heavy metal, rock, grindcore, rapcore, and even classic rock for some reason. No matter what genre they fit in, they have a really unique and cool sound to them. This album is a heavy blend of powerchords with some melodic parts. All in all, good heavy sound with a mix of fast and slow singing.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics overall are pretty cool too. In the song wait and bleed, the opening starts off as, 'I felt the hate rise up in me, kneel down and clear the stone of leaces, I wander out where you cant see, inside my shell I wait and bleed'. This refers to a dream that Corey (the singer) had when he was high one day. He dreamed that he was in a bathtub bleeding from his wrists and slowely dying.

Overall Impression — 9
Slipknot is a very cool band with a nice heavy sound with very unique singing and guitar. This was my first metal CD I ever owned and it is still a favorite of mine.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date