Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses) review by Slipknot

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 25, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.4 (228 votes)
Slipknot: Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses)

Sound — 10
The sound and style on this album is much more rounded than that of the bands previous albums. Vol. 3 starts out fast and heavy after the intro with "The Blister Exists" through "Opium Of The People". Then it goes into "Circle", a slow, soft, and morose song that is followed by another fast and heavy track "Wellcome" and slows back down at "Vermilion Pt. 2", another slow and gloomy acoustic song (about a stalker?) but picks back up with "The Nameless". Despite the rather weak ending in the last track, "Danger-Keep Away", this album is definitely one of my top favorites. It really shows the vocal and musical ranges of Slipknot.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics weren't half bad, they weren't half good either, but the music and the talanted (thats right, I said talented) vocals of these guys made up for the less than perfect lyrics.

Overall Impression — 8
This is a pretty good album, it's got usual Slipknot sound plus some interesting new stuff. Caution: do not operate a motor vehicle while listening to this album, may cause reckless driving!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date