Anxiety review by Smile Empty Soul

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 27, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.4 (51 votes)
Smile Empty Soul: Anxiety

Sound — 10
The post-grunge band's, Smile Empty Soul, sophomore album definately will hit you harder emotionally. A Very hard to find album seeing as frontman Sean Danielson told a crowd in Kansas that due to problems with Lava Records, Anxiety would only be sold at shows or bought online. It might be a pain to find, but it is definately worth it. Sean Danielson's guitar playing is definately softer, more mellow/sorrowful in this album. He made sure that the riffs and chords and solos sounded softer and sadder. The Dark Singing involved on Anxiety is definately adding to this albums mellowness. There are songs where it reminds you of Nirvana's greatness.

Lyrics — 10
Once again Sean Danielson finds a way to hit you with his lyrics. His great lyric writing skills are shown once again in this album. He covers a lot in this album. From getting pills from his doctor, to digging more and more holes to fall in in life, to how screwed up the TV is today with all those stupid shows. He has definately improved in his singing skills. While less of the screaming angry singing to more of the softer singing. Especially shown in California'a lonely, God's Army, and The End Of The World. So definately a hard hitting album with beautiful singing.

Overall Impression — 10
I compare this to Smile Empty Soul's debut album. Their self-titled was definately heavier lyric wise and music wise, with songs that could hit you very hard example: I Want My Life, This Is War, Sillouettes, The Other Side. Their self titled also had heavy songs examples: Nowhere Kids, Bottom Of A Bottle, Your Way, Every Sunday. THis album shows a much softer side of Sean Danielson, with lyrics that mean a lot to you emotionally. The Riffs are softer. Great album!

3 comments sorted by best / new / date