Thunder review by SMV

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 12, 2008
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.7 (10 votes)
SMV: Thunder

Sound — 10
It's time to crank the subs on your stereo. Last year, three of the world's finest and most respected bassists - Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller and Victor Wooten made their supergroup debut with the hour-long, funky and fun "Thunder". Most people thought SMV wouldn't work - you can't put three bassists like these together in a song without it just being a complete bass orgy, but SMV proves everyone wrong about a minute into the first track (right after the epic/cheesy intro). Throughout the album, one bassist will hold the main beat while the other two trade solos or play harmonies with ease. Each bassist gets their chances to shine, each plucking, thumping and strumming like there's no tomorrow. Marcus Miller's production on the album is astonishing, with each bassist being heard clearly along with the rest of the drums and keyboards, while still keeping the basses from sounding distorted. At some moments you can even hear their fingers glide through every groove in their strings. But perhaps the biggest achievement on the album is that they have somehow managed to fit arguably the three best jazz bassists in the world onto one album and not having it sound clutterred. Album highlights include: The six minute title track, the epic show-off riffs of "Thunder", "Los Tres Hermanos", which features some very nimble playing and probably the prettiest melody on the album, "Lopsy Lu-Silly Putty", a great reworking of the classic Stanley Clarke song, the simply astounding triplet trading and upright bass on "Milano", and the closing track "Grits", which is played as the final song on just about every concert the supergroup plays. SMV pulled off this album, flawlessly. 'Nuff said.

Lyrics — 10
The album contains no lyrics, but America's Got Talent's Butterscotch does appear on a few tracks to do some great beatboxing on the title track as well as "Pendulum". And really, the music speaks for itself, with the great harmonies and funky riffs showing that there really is no need for words.

Overall Impression — 10
"Thunder proved once again that Stanley Clarke is the legend, Marcus Miller the funky, multi-instrumentalist, and Victor Wooten as the true jazz virtuoso. These three are and will always (and in all ways) be the true titans of jazz bass. SMV pulled off this album, flawlessly.

7 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I just looked it up on youtube. Holy crap this is awesome. And I'm not even a bass player
    Saw them at Jazzfest this year along with a workshop with Wooten.. These guys are amazing in every aspect