review by SOiL

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 23, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (12 votes)

Sound — 10
Although straight referencies to Alice in Chains ("Something Real") and Korn ("Cross My Heart"; "Love Hate Game") have been made, vocalist McCombs and guitarists Shaun Glass and Adam Zadel consistently generate their own brand of caustic heat. "Suffering"'s huge hammer down riff anchors the album's midsection, while the conventional crawl of "Remember" is saved by interesting chorus dynamics and a squalling six string breakdown. "Say You Will" even recalls the growl and classicist pacing of Judas Priest. It's in these moments that SOiL claw their way out of the post-grunge production pit, that slick, slimy place where records like this battle for the wallets and souls of the Ozzfest faithful with soundalike mixing and radio-ready, oddly empty melodies.

Lyrics — 8
The new single "" sounds like a new live killer with the band and "Can You Heal Me" rocks like a mammoth, one of the most aggressive and heavy choruses on this album is "Deny Me" - the killer whale track above all... Both frightening and kind at the same time.

Overall Impression — 8
"" kicks off with "Pride" and the title track "Redefine", two of the cleanest cuts of metal meat to ever peel from the post-grunge femur. Both feature flat, cutting guitar riffs boiling over stomping percussion; vocalist Ryan McCombs seems to tear out, chew up, and ultimately swallow the sinewy remains of his own adam's apple.

3rd full length album from nu-metal band SOiL is as solid and concrete as a meteor falling through the sky. On the new album this Chicago quintet has once again hooked up with producer Johnny K (Disturbed, Mushroomhead) and he sure knows his stuff.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date